Home Politics 10 Major Senators Who Will not Be Returning To The 9th Assembly

10 Major Senators Who Will not Be Returning To The 9th Assembly


Last Thursday, President Muhammadu Buhari pronounced the dissolution of the eight sessions of the National Assembly and as well ushered in the ninth session of the parliament.

With the new session expected to begin on Tuesday, June 11 2019, Here is a list of all the senators who will not be returning to the 9th National Assembly.

1. David Mark


David Mark who retired from politics to become a peace ambassador will not be returning to the Senate. He was succeeded by Patrick Abba Moro (PDP) in Benue South.

2. Shehu Sani


Shehu Sani, having fallen out with the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, left the APC and joined the PRP, but eventually lost his seat to Sani Uba, an APC candidate in Kaduna Central.

3. Mao Ohuabunwa


Mao Ohuabunwa of PDP lost the Abia North Senatorial district to former governor, senator, and APC candidate Kalu Orji Uzor.

4. Godswill Akpabio


Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom North West lost his seat to Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong of the PDP.

5. Olusegun Mimiko


Olusegun Mimiko who was the candidate of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) for Ondo Central Senatorial District, lost to Akinyelure Patrick Ayo, candidate of the PDP.

6. Rafiu Ibrahim


Rafiu Ibrahim of Kwara South was arrested 24 hours to the presidential and National Assembly elections. He was brought in for questioning after the attack on Ashiru Oyelola Yisa of the APC. Rafiu Ibrahim eventually lost to the APC candidate.

7. Nazif Gamawa


Nazif Gamawa failed in his attempt to return as the senator for Bauchi North, and lost to APC’s Bulkachuwa Adamu Muhammad.

8. Victor Umeh


Victor Umeh of APGA lost to Uche Lilian Ekwunife (PDP) in Anambra Central.

9. Mohammed Hassan


Mohammed Hassan of the PDP lost his seat to Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed of the APC in Yobe South.

10. Dr Bukola Saraki


Dr Bukola Saraki was defeated in all the four local government areas in the Kwara Central senatorial district by Oloriegbe Yahaya Ibrahim (APC).