APDA And Four Other New Political Parties Gets INEC Registration


The Independent National Commission, INEC has announced the registration of five new political parties ahead of the 2019 general elections.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, yesterday, announced the registration of five new political parties, bringing the number of political parties in the country to 45.

Announcing the decision at a late evening press briefing in Kaduna, INEC commissioner in charge of Information and Voter Education, Solomon Soyebi, said the newly registered political parties met the constitutional requirements for registration, while two associations, which had earlier applied for registration as political parties, voluntarily withdrew their applications.

The new associations registered as political parties by the electoral commission are as follows:


YPP: Young Progressive Party

APDA: Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance


NGPN: New Generation Party of Nigeria

ADPMN: All Democratic People’s Movement of Nigeria, and

ADP:Action Democratic Party